Guardian Book of the Year – Attacking Manual 2

Attacking Manual 2 has received another honour: the Guardian newspaper, specifically GM Danny King and Ronan Bennett, selected the Attacking Manual 2 as their Book of the Year, ahead of rival works written by Kasparov, Seirawan and Watson. Of course, recently the English Chess Federation also selected Attacking Manuals 1 and 2 as their Books of the Year.

The Guardian judges wrote:

“Aagaard delivers opinionated and sometimes biting judgments, and more importantly, he has found some remarkable and original ideas that enrich our understanding of attacking play. This is a case where computer software has been put to good use to bring out the beauty in a game, but he is not a slave to the machine, going his own way when necessary. So congratulations to Aagaard and Quality Chess.”

The full column can be found at the Guardian website.

2 thoughts on “Guardian Book of the Year – Attacking Manual 2”

  1. Impressive Jacob !
    Two book of the year prizes are really quite rare for the same book !
    I am doing cuurently the “Aagaard course”, means working through your older books (cuurently excelling at calculation), still practical defence and then ATM I+II left. I have a fovorite author 🙂 and a favorite chess book publisher btw…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top